Nobody Home…..

I’ve got a little black book with my poems in

I’ve got a bag with a toothbrush and a comb

When I’m a good dog they sometimes throw me a bone

I got elastic bands keeping my shoes on

Got those swollen hand blues.

Got thirteen channels of shit on the T.V. to choose from

I’ve got electric light

And I’ve got second sight

I’ve got amazing powers of observation

And that is how I know

When I try to get through

On the telephone to you

There’ll be nobody home

I’ve got the obligatory Hendrix perm

And I’ve got the inevitable pinhole burns

All down the front of my favorite satin shirt

I’ve got nicotine stains on my fingers

I’ve got a silver spoon on a chain

I’ve got a grand piano to prop up my mortal remains

I’ve got wild staring eyes

I’ve got a strong urge to fly

But I’ve got nowhere to fly to

Ooooh Babe when I pick up the phone

There’s still nobody home

I’ve got a pair of Gohills boots

And I’ve got fading roots…………

Roger Waters Lyric – The Wall

“I’ve got nicotine stains on my fingers, I’ve got a silver spoon on a chain”…….tobacco and heroin, sometimes life is so empty that I smoke my brain away and long for something stronger. But, you know, I just can’t take that anymore, so I am thrashing about in the dark. This song is about depression, and the times when it may look on the outside like I have everything I need in life, but on the inside there is a big black hole where something is missing and there is an ache that can’t be dulled

About barrywhit

I am a retired engineer and I live in darkest Lincolnshire, UK. I am an author and when I retired, published a book in 2004 and another one in April 2008. I am now also a retired author!! If you have ever written a book you will understand what I mean. I am interested in science, aviation, philosophy, spirituality , politics, progressive rock painting (art not rooms) and films. I prefer wide open spaces to city centres. Lincolnshire has the biggest skies in the country and I love it. I am a left wing, liberal Anglican, I read The Guardian and Observer. I am a Republican at heart and an armchair communist!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

