Raven

Raven

 (to Joan 1937- 2003)


Union Street fades with the sunset,

Dying towards the lingering sea.

You are always there, walking away,

Blue Dragons in the wind,

And memories of the Albatross.

 

Nobody walks here anymore,

The street is drained of life.

Union Street is always raining,

Wet in the autumn lamplight,

Memories are like shadows,

Flitting down the alleyways.

 

Today the smell of loneliness

Scares me like nothing else,

Our footsteps are frozen in the sand,

Memories, crushed like sea shells.

They always said that night became us.

 

Even the moonlight is dimmed

Now you have gone away.

Without your faraway eyes,

No exploding circles of light,

Just the sound of your dying call.

 

Even the birds are silent now,

Until a raven on a lamp post

Smacks the night with its caw.

Crazy bird stalks the pavement

With its memories of broken darkness.

 

Cellars give up their secrets

On this shadow shrouded night.

Memories are fused in my head.

They say that every Raven

Craves a crimson stone.

 

Why did you go from me suddenly

Ending the years of endless waiting?

Inside us are the shades of heaven,

Glimpses of lost origins,

And the years that never were.

 

Summon me up the darkness,

Let falling night reign in my soul.

Come to me in all your comeliness,

Re-kindle my lost memories

And refresh my star studded dreams.

 Robert Barry

A poem composed in memory of my late ex-wife, Joan (1937 – 2003).  Union
Street
is in Southport,
England, where we first lived. It is a narrow street which runs down to the sea
front and had a Chinese restaurant, The Blue Dragon, and a jazz club, the
Albatross, where we were regulars.  Divorce after 25 years of marriage and 4 children does not negate the good times we had together and there were many of those. We merged together like hand and glove when we first met. She is also the mother of my kids. She is sadly missed. 

The Raven seems to foreshadow a dark future but is also a repository of
memories. 
The
raven shows us how to go into the dark of our inner self and bring out the light of our true nature resolving inner conflicts which have long been buried. This is the deepest power of healing we can possess. If
a raven totem has come into our life, magic is at play. The raven activates the energy of change and links it to our will and intention. With
this totem, we can make great changes in our life; especially the ability to  take the unformed thought and make it reality.

About barrywhit

I am a retired engineer and I live in darkest Lincolnshire, UK. I am an author and when I retired, published a book in 2004 and another one in April 2008. I am now also a retired author!! If you have ever written a book you will understand what I mean. I am interested in science, aviation, philosophy, spirituality , politics, progressive rock painting (art not rooms) and films. I prefer wide open spaces to city centres. Lincolnshire has the biggest skies in the country and I love it. I am a left wing, liberal Anglican, I read The Guardian and Observer. I am a Republican at heart and an armchair communist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

