Hark! The merry checkouts ring!

Hark! The merry checkouts ring,
Credit cards for everything!
Space war toys with flashing sparks,
Purewool skirt we bought at Mark’s.
Glacéfruit in crystal jars,
Laptops, gin and Dutch cigars.
We’re the victims of hardsell,
Christmas shopping is pure hell.
Hark! the merry checkouts ring,
Credit cards for everything.

Disregard the checkouts ring,
Try to hear the angels sing,
Bringing good news to the earth,
Gospel of a Saviour’s birth.
“Peace on earth” their message still,
“Peace to all those of good will.
Christ is born!” the angels cry,
“Glory be to God on high!”
Let the checkouts have their ring,
We will hear the angels sing.

John Bowers
Heighington

from: http://www.mpldigital.com/crosslincs/newspaper
About barrywhit

I am a retired engineer and I live in darkest Lincolnshire, UK. I am an author and when I retired, published a book in 2004 and another one in April 2008. I am now also a retired author!! If you have ever written a book you will understand what I mean. I am interested in science, aviation, philosophy, spirituality , politics, progressive rock painting (art not rooms) and films. I prefer wide open spaces to city centres. Lincolnshire has the biggest skies in the country and I love it. I am a left wing, liberal Anglican, I read The Guardian and Observer. I am a Republican at heart and an armchair communist!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

